Cadence Sensor Fell Off My Bike!

I do a fair bit of cycling and had purchased a Garmin Forerunner 305 last year to track my rides, as well as for my wife to train for a mini-triathalon. Well, we bought it with an optional cadence sensor (which counts your rpm, like on an exercise bike), but have never tried it yet.

Tonight, I decided to go ahead and put the sensor on my bike and go for a test ride. Luckily it was just around the neighborhood because when I got home and uploaded my ride data, the cadence data had stopped after about a quarter of my ride! I was thinking: “Crap! I hope the sensor didn’t fall off!”

Well, that’s exactly what happened: I went out to the garage – now it’s about 11:00pm – and sure enough, the pedal magnet was missing from my pedal crank! The tie-strap is still on, but I guess the crank was tapered and the thing slid down it until it was loose enough to fall off. I suppose that’s what tests are for.

cadence sensor fell off

Map Where Cadence Sensor Fell Off

The cadence sensor option wasn’t cheap; it’s about $50-$55: Well worth hunting around in the dark for a while. I grabbed a flashlight and went down to the spot where the sensor quit (starting where I turned the corner). I was searching with the street light and the flashlight, seeing some pretty cool insect night-life but no sensor – it’s about the size of your average piece of gravel lying on the street and it’s black, also around the same size as many a beetle I saw hanging around.

cadence sensor

I kept walking. Cars drove by and I acted cool like I had a reason for meandering about the middle of the road at 11-something at night with a flashlight. Finally, I was about to give up and turn around, since I was pretty far down from where I thought it fell off, and then I saw it! Praise the Lord, I found it! Lying right in the middle of the street! I was so excited, I came home and wrote this post.

It’s definitely been driven over, because the face is nicked a bit, but since this part only houses a magnet, I’m confident it will work. Later, I’ll have to get some strong double-sided tape, tighten the heck out of the tie strap, and make sure this thing stays on!

About Kurt (Lightning) Bredeson

I am a married man, a follower of Jesus, a Mechanical Engineer, and a lover of cars, cycling and music. Things haven't always been easy; things haven't always been hard. I'm just trying my best in this life to enjoy what's been given to me by God and make the most of it.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Fun Stuff, Funny and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cadence Sensor Fell Off My Bike!

  1. Pops says:

    Dad says way to persevere. Saw some special thin/strong 2 sided tape in the Lee Valley catalog.

  2. mama francie says:

    good stuff, kurt!
    i can’t believe u made a map of where your cadence sensor fell off. you’re too funny!
    i’ll definitely be reading more of your stories later.
    i’m still chuckling.
    over your map.

Comments?

