Minus 25 And Still Alive

As I rode to work today, I thought of this saying, since it was -25C (at least): “Minus 25 and still alive”. If anyone remembers the Short Circuit movies, they’ll know what I’m talking about. Since this is my second day riding in sub -25 Celsius weather, I thought I would list some of the things that do and don’t work in this cold. P.S. that’s -13F but I’m pretty sure yesterday was -18F.

Does Work

My clothing (see winter gear) is keeping me nice and warm. I’m wearing cycling shorts + long johns + sweat pants + wind pants on the bottom, and long-sleeved compression shirt + technical pull-over + windbreaker on top. I felt cool but not cold and my thin glove + Dakine mitt combo got my hands warmed right up after about 10 minutes of cycling. I think I figured out my fogging problem too! I’m wearing contacts and I put my goggles on below all other layers, so that the seal is against my skin. Even my headband goes over my goggle strap. I do put my face mask on first, though.

Doesn’t Work

Batteries. My cycling light, which has been awesome so far, has found it’s limit for holding a charge. I have been able to ride 4-5 days, times 2 45-minute rides with the light at full before needing a charge. Yesterday, I had charged it fully but on the way home the light went into battery-saving blinker mode and the battery indicator was flashing red. So about an hour of ride time in -25C will kill the battery. For reference, it’s a Light and Motion Urban 300 lamp. It’s super bright, has 4 modes, and is really easy to use and strap on. Aside from this new battery issue, I love the light.

I suppose if I do ride in -30, I’ll be saying: “-30 and lookin’ nerdy”. Cheers!

About Kurt (Lightning) Bredeson

I am a married man, a follower of Jesus, a Mechanical Engineer, and a lover of cars, cycling and music. Things haven't always been easy; things haven't always been hard. I'm just trying my best in this life to enjoy what's been given to me by God and make the most of it.
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling, Winter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments?

