Making Dirtbike Sounds Really Helps

Today I realized I forgot to mention one of the things that keeps me going on my morning rides: Dirtbike sounds!
Yes, I make dirtbike sounds at certain points in my commute for various reasons:

  1. For fun! Nothing beats ripping up a corner (snow or dirt) or going over whoops  (snow or dirt) while making motocross sounds! Especially if you kick out the back tire a bit.
  2. For extra speed/acceleration. There’s a couple long (albeit shallow) climbs near the end of my ride and I know that when I make dirtbike sounds just after the crosswalk I pour on some extra speed for the climb. (In summer on my road bike, they’re street bike sounds.)
  3. There’s a section of straight dirt trail that is now covered in loose snow that I use to cut across a field. There’s no way to follow the same tire rut twice, so I’m always slippin’ out sliding and generally standing to ride. The dirtbike sounds are absolutely imperative here. On the way home, I absolutely fly across this trail and join back up with the paved bike path.

There you have it. Dirtbike sounds (or street bike sounds, in summer) make you faster. If I could record myself without being terribly embarrassed, you would see what I mean. Those who know me know I’m pretty good with sound effects, so they’re pretty realistic.

P.S. when I’m in too high a gear and just chugging, sometimes I make Diesel sounds (no kidding!)

About Kurt (Lightning) Bredeson

I am a married man, a follower of Jesus, a Mechanical Engineer, and a lover of cars, cycling and music. Things haven't always been easy; things haven't always been hard. I'm just trying my best in this life to enjoy what's been given to me by God and make the most of it.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Fun Stuff, Funny and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making Dirtbike Sounds Really Helps

  1. yo' mama says:

    too funny! i can hear you from here in Leduc!

Comments?

