Update: Life’s Crazy. Too Crazy to Post.

Here’s my super-quick cycling update, since life’s been too crazy to post anything these days. Hopefully I’ll post some details later of my Minneapolis trip and other fun rides I’ve done lately.

Yup, still riding! Well Minneapolis came and went. It was awesome. What a great cycling city! Favorite ride was Lake Nokomis to Minehaha Falls and favorite pit stop was Angry Catfish. Got caught in a crazy downpour on the trails but it was short. Learned how to make the best coffee from Kopplin’s in St.Paul: just ask ’em!

Went to Boston, NY, MD, DC (w/o bikes). Had a blast, had a crazy windstorm (look up “Maryland Derecho 2012”) had no power, no AC, and record 104F temps! We were lucky.

New cassette and chain on both MTB and Urban commuter bikes (what a difference, she’s back to awesome!) Advice: don’t ride in big ring up front and low gear at back ($35 lesson). Oops! Can’t believe how well the commuter bike shifts; I was seriously considering upgrading the drive train due to performance issues, but now am happy with the properly working stock components.

First long ride August 6th with a friend: 60km, 3hrs riding time, 5hrs with lunch at Bird’s Hill Park and rest stops. I’ll have to try more of them; it was pretty fun and I wasn’t as sore as I thought I’d be. Now, if I could just “trailer” my MTB behind my urban bike I’d ride out to the park, hit the singletrack for a while, and ride back. Keep dreaming!

About Kurt (Lightning) Bredeson

I am a married man, a follower of Jesus, a Mechanical Engineer, and a lover of cars, cycling and music. Things haven't always been easy; things haven't always been hard. I'm just trying my best in this life to enjoy what's been given to me by God and make the most of it.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments?

