Another Day, Another Dollar

I bought a $1 pair of sunglasses a week ago. I destroyed my $1 pair of sunglasses today.

This morning, when I went out to ride to work, I stuck my sunglasses on my shirt collar because it was overcast. At about 20 of 24 minutes of my commute, I came off a curb on one of the busiest intersections in Winnipeg and my sunglasses fell out of their nest in my shirt. First, they fell through my frame, then into my spokes when I heard the crunch. I had to stop in the median to make sure they weren’t wrecking my bike, but knew they were toast. All that was left was a white plastic frame with one arm sitting in the middle of the intersection. Here’s me standing in the middle of the median, having now missed my chance to fully cross the street, watching cars drive over the lenses, which were in the middle of the lane. Cross-traffic would soon take care of the frames once the light changed. I’m so glad they were only $1! I really liked them though because they wrap around my face nice and tight and are white to match my helmet. Now I’ll have to go buy about 5 more.

Bishop Grandin and Waverly

About Kurt (Lightning) Bredeson

I am a married man, a follower of Jesus, a Mechanical Engineer, and a lover of cars, cycling and music. Things haven't always been easy; things haven't always been hard. I'm just trying my best in this life to enjoy what's been given to me by God and make the most of it.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments?

