First Cross Race of the Season! Must Buy Loctite…

Wow was I humbled last Saturday night! I just finished the Open Race in DarkCross: a night-time cyclocross race at the local dirt oval speedway. Open Race is for anyone without a race license who wants to try out the sport for a few races. Over all, the whole night was great. There was great racing to watch, an awesome DJ pumping everyone up, and even a live band between races! My race was fun but it just about killed me from exhaustion. I apparently need way more intense training.

Arial view of the DarkCross course. Front half is all dirt, backside is hilly grass. “Grandstand run-up” is the highlight of the race.

I did one race last year and have trained a bit with cross labs and my modified commuting route, so I figured I’d have half a chance at finishing DarkCross. I finished. Barely. This race is pretty grueling with lots of long stretches on rough hard-packed dirt, tight turns on loose dirt, a set of barriers, the “Grandstand Run-Up”, the rock garden run-up, and the 8ft staircase “flyover” just to finish things off each lap. The “20 minutes plus a lap” race was as close to a marathon as makes no difference to me!

After the first lap I was just killed. I couldn’t go on, but somehow I had to. I was praying somehow the race would only be 2 laps, but after lap 2 I knew the race was still going and I had to do all I could just to finish. I just wanted to finish. By lap 3 I couldn’t even think. I couldn’t remember all the bumps or what came after which corner or what corners I should take wide. I was just plodding along putting one foot around the other. Luckily, there was only 3 laps total, but it took me about 37 minutes to finish all three. I can’t believe how hard it was to keep going that hard for that long. I paced myself, but compared to the race I tried last year, this one was about 1.5 times harder. Last year at MennoCross I finished 11th. I figured I’d be 2nd or 3rd last, since I had huge stretches where I was alone, but I ended up 17th out of 25. I think that’s OK for such a tough race.

I won’t give you a play-by-play, but I had a couple mishaps: One tight corner at the top of a hill had me pedaling to get up but hitting my inside pedal as I turned. I didn’t fall off, but had to stop and get back on the pedals. Halfway through lap 2, my seat came loose. When I ran up the grandstand, I heard it jingle-jangling so that when I got back on at the top, my seat tipped backwards! Lap 1.5 to the end of the race was a bit tricky and I spent a bunch of it trying to keep my seat from tipping one way or the other. It’s crazy since I checked and tightened every bolt on my bike the night before. Now I’ll be buying some blue Loctite.

As hard as it was, it was a blast and I would do it again. I had so much fun and the course was pretty technical so I got to use all the skills I’ve been learning in cross labs. I’m looking forward to a few more open races this season. It’s always a learning experience. There were several photographers at the race, so aside from my few phone pics, check out these photos:

The Birch Club DarkCross2012 Photos

Me running up the back rock garden

Mark Reimer’s Photos

C Race Start

Infield and “Chicane of Pain”

Grandstand Run-up

Grandstand Run-Up

Fly Over

Fly Over

Fly Over

About Kurt (Lightning) Bredeson

I am a married man, a follower of Jesus, a Mechanical Engineer, and a lover of cars, cycling and music. Things haven't always been easy; things haven't always been hard. I'm just trying my best in this life to enjoy what's been given to me by God and make the most of it.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments?

