Jingle All The Way

Jingle all the way!

Yup! Those are Jingle Bells!

Hey, if you’re going to ride in winter, you may as well have a little fun! After all, why ride at all if not for the fun of it?

I Ride for Fun

I only ride for the fun of it. I’m not trying to prove anything. I’m not trying to commute faster than I can by car and thumbing my nose at those silly cars sitting at intersections while I zoom through everyone cutting in and out, etc. I’m not that type of cyclist. I ride because it’s fun and I feel great afterwards. I get energy for my day. I get stress relief at the end of it. I enjoy having the time to think while I ride without the distractions of music, radio ads, stop-and-go traffic, and douches in tractors driving on the freeway at 40km/h (holy rant, Batman!).

At this point in my life my cycling addiction is still budding (sorry Hon!) and I have not yet begun to enjoy riding in the rain, sleet, rain-wind, and sleet-wind. I’ve been caught in it a few times, but given the choice, I’ll just drive if it looks nasty out. That’s not to say I don’t like getting dirty. I love MTB-ing through the mud and have on various occasions had to stop to pull sticks, mud, and grass out of my derailleur or use a stick to scrape mud to clear my forks and keep riding. I love it!

Jingle Bells

Enter the Jingle Bells. Since getting my Mountain Bike (MTB) in 2011, I found some cool trails in my area that I like to ride. They seem to be made by MTB-ers for MTB-ers, with single-track and bridges just for bikes, but as with all public green-space, people on feet use them too and not just MTBs. I’ve had a couple close-calls with hikers meandering along the MOUNTAIN BIKE TRAILwhile I come up un-announced and inadvertently scare the crap out of them. I don’t mean to, it just happens. You can’t see around the next bend and you can’t remove your hands from the handlebars (it’s windy single-track) to ding a stupid bell.

I’m a nice guy. I don’t want to scare people. So I have a bell on my commuter bike that I use when approaching people. It’s not my fault that joggers with their headphones can’t hear me and get spooked. It’s not my fault that there are girls three-wide on the BIKE TRAIL doing lunges with their headphones on that get spooked. Most of the time, I give some warning, shout “on your left” and go on by. This is not possible on the single-track MTB trails. I need something to notify the unsuspecting deer-watchers when I’m flying down the trail rounding a bend.

Last Christmas, I happened to be handing out Lindt chocolate bunnies to some kids for a program I volunteered at. They had some neat little bells on them that the kids were tossing away. I figured: “Hey, this might just work”, so I asked for some and put four of them on my MTB handlebars. They barely made a sound, but I kept them on all year anyway. I lost about two of them somewhere. Anyway, they didn’t work too well so I was on the lookout for some better, louder bells that could passively alert the bird-watchers of my presence on the MTB trails.

This Christmas I found some Martha Stewart Christmas Bells, 12 to a pack, for like $3, so I snapped them up. I wanted black, but had to settle for red (guess Martha doesn’t do black bells). I tie-strapped a few to my bike and I may say that they jingle quite nicely! With the winter multi-use trails being so rough with footprints, my bells are jingling all the way to work. I’m pretty sure people can now hear me coming, so I can’t wait to use these in on the trails in the summer. Plus, I can just swat at them to give a little more jingle when passing people (swat the bells, not the people). So far, folks seem to enjoy a cyclist riding by them in winter with jingle bells, hopefully they’ll enjoy it in summer too.

Cheers!

About Kurt (Lightning) Bredeson

I am a married man, a follower of Jesus, a Mechanical Engineer, and a lover of cars, cycling and music. Things haven't always been easy; things haven't always been hard. I'm just trying my best in this life to enjoy what's been given to me by God and make the most of it.
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling, Fun Stuff, Funny, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jingle All The Way

  1. tuckamoredew says:

    Seems like a good idea. Maybe it’ll scare away bears too!

Comments?

