Memories of ‘Cross 2012

All winter I wanted to write a summary of my short cyclocross season last year but never got around to it. I wanted to wax poetic about how amazing it was, about the mud, blood, but no tears (guess I didn’t try hard enough). I really wanted to thank the folks at Cyclocross Manitoba for putting on such an amazing set of events and free training sessions. Mostly, I wanted to express the joys of competing in a sport that is challenging, fun, and lacking in the exclusivity and “hoity-toity”-ness of some other cycling-related activities. It was a complete blast and I’m way overdue for writing about it!

Last year I wrote: “I found out about cyclocross. It defies description, but is basically a race in which a group of typically road-cyclists get together to abuse themselves on grass, mud, gravel, loose rocks, sand, hills, obstacles, stairs, etc., on somewhat modified road bikes. They love mud. They love pain. I don’t know why.”

Now I know why.

About Kurt (Lightning) Bredeson

I am a married man, a follower of Jesus, a Mechanical Engineer, and a lover of cars, cycling and music. Things haven't always been easy; things haven't always been hard. I'm just trying my best in this life to enjoy what's been given to me by God and make the most of it.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Cyclocross and Racing, Fun Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments?

