MuddyCross – I mean MennoCross 2013

Well it looks like I never had time to post about some of my cyclocross races this year. Oh well. Here are some pics of Mennocross. It was a mud fest and as fun as anything I’ve ever done!

Aside from the HUGE fun of the event, I made a friend, Greg, whom I battled with for most of the race. He had me in the straights, and I had him in the technical sections. Alas, I ended up just getting by him and it stuck till the end. I don’t know how it happened, but I made 4th! My best race ever! A podium spot (Ha! It’s Open Race, for non-racers, what podium?) would have been cool but the top three were a good 30 seconds ahead and consistently a couple corners ahead of me the whole race.

Then after the race, during which I was taking said photos, I made another friend, Brendan, who then taught me everything I know about heckling. We watched as someone skidded through the downhill muddy chicane and right through the tape! It was pretty funny.

Never had that kind of camaraderie during a race before, but that’s Winnipeg cyclocross! The Elites and Masters do talk to each other and encourage one another during the race. I hear a lot of “you got this” and “keep it up” from the A racers at the Ego Cross race that I watched.

A belated thanks to Manitoba Cyclocross for an awesome season!

 

About Kurt (Lightning) Bredeson

I am a married man, a follower of Jesus, a Mechanical Engineer, and a lover of cars, cycling and music. Things haven't always been easy; things haven't always been hard. I'm just trying my best in this life to enjoy what's been given to me by God and make the most of it.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Cyclocross and Racing, Fun Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MuddyCross – I mean MennoCross 2013

  1. -yo' mama says:

    sounds like fun; well deserved after all that preparation & training!!! i’d like to join in the stands some day, where I too could heckle “your mama wears glass slippers!” “your brother carries soup in his beard”. stuff like that.

    • It’s all about the heckling! The more creative, the better; and I know how creative you are! I learned all about heckling at that race. Hmm, maybe someday I can find an Edmonton cyclocross race.

Comments?

