Ready for winter again (a little late)

Well winter hit Winnipeg a few weeks ago in earnest. I managed to bomb around the neighborhood in the fresh powder but my bike really wasn’t ready for winter. NOW IT IS!

I found that with tire pressures way way down to about 20psi, I could cruise around on snow in the back alleys. I even tried the glazed surface of a completely iced up parking lot and it did OK. Not comfortably OK, not terrible though. Only problem was, my rear brake locked up when I was crossing a street. I guess the cable froze because I loosened it by hand a few times and it worked for the rest of my ride.

Since then, I wanted to do a full tear-down, clean, grease, rebuild, and adjust before I continued commuting through winter. Not to mention fitting my studded tires! Well, I can proudly say ol’ Drifter is ready! I’m so excited! More on the buildup in another post (hopefully).

New addition this year: One store-bought studded tire to go with my DIY tire that I made last year (see bottom for links to this procedure). The store didn’t have the tires that I wanted (Schwalbe Ice Spiker, I believe), even though I called ahead and they said they had them. So they only had tires with outside rows of studs and I didn’t want to spend too much money on tires if they weren’t going to have center studs. So I just bought one to try out (it was half price in April). I’ve mounted last year’s DIY studded tire on the rear and the Klondike studded tire on the front, and we’ll see which performs better.

BTW, as I write this it is -25C with a wind chill warning in effect (that would be -14F, in case you’re wondering). I could care less! I got The Gear for it. Been there, done that. I plan to ride down to -40C(-40F) until something freezes up or breaks off (bike parts, bike parts, jeez! Come on people!)

Gotta go ride! Here’s some pics of the bike ready for winter again.

Drifter Winter 2013

Drifter’s all ready to go!

Klondike studded tire up front

Klondike studded tire up front

Klondike Tire

Klondike Tire

DIY Studded Tire

DIY Studded Tire

In case you care about making your own studded tires, I have a detailed write-up with updates at the following links:

About Kurt (Lightning) Bredeson

I am a married man, a follower of Jesus, a Mechanical Engineer, and a lover of cars, cycling and music. Things haven't always been easy; things haven't always been hard. I'm just trying my best in this life to enjoy what's been given to me by God and make the most of it.
This entry was posted in Commuting, Cycling, Repair and Maintenance, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ready for winter again (a little late)

  1. -yo' mama says:

    I like how you have theatre seats set up in the back for your fans to view the “cyclist a work” programs!!

  2. tuckamoredew says:

    Bring on the winter riding!

    Looking at the pictures, I’d say you’re DIY tire is probably the better of the two. The Klondike is a bit weird – not sure if I see the point of manufacturing a commercial studded tire without center studs. The Schwalbe Ice Spikers great if you get the chance to use them.

    • kurtbredeson says:

      Thanks! I went for a ride last night and the Klondike’s weren’t too stable. The diy’s allowed me to do catwalks on ice. No joke.
      I do need more than 20psi though because there’s so much rolling resistance.
      In the spring, tires should be half off again so I might buy the better ones.
      Happy riding! Thanks for the comment.

Comments?

