So Much To Say, So Little Time

It’s been a crazy couple years for me. Luckily, and by the grace of God, I’m getting through it. In fact, it’s starting to look a whole lot better and I’m getting excited for what might be in store for me. I haven’t stopped cycling or having fun, going on adventures, or living life, so I’m excited to write about some of the things I’ve been up to. Hopefully I can put together some decent posts individually about these things, but here’s a quick preview of what I hope to write about soon:

Canadian National Cyclocross Championships in Winnipeg, Manitoba in October 2014. Un-be-leivable! This was one crazy weekend of watching high-end racing and cheering on my local racers as well as some big names (Ahem, Geoff Kabush and Mike Garrigan) that I look up to. Not to mention racing myself in two open races, and racing with ex. Cyclocross Magazine writer and current Bicycling Magazine contributor Molly Hurford, plus chatting with her afterwards!

Living in a “cabin in the woods” for the entire winter in lake country. A long-term rental, portable internet, and a mountain bike. Rocks, trees, animals, bike tracks, ski tracks, and wolf tracks. What a great winter! Pushing my MTB skills and breaking derailleurs, exploring new places, meeting new friends, tuning bikes for Bible Camp and building brand-new bikes for Bible Camp.

My first 100km gravel backroads ride to the beach and back last summer. What a great day spent with friends and bikes. Pacing ourselves on packed gravel roads, scaring ourselves on short sections of highway, but ultimately having a great day of riding and a great destination. And one failed railroad track bunny hop and blown rear tire.

Building a home made bob trailer from discarded lawn chairs to pull behind my bike. Taking apart some old steel lawn chairs, learning to weld, machining a few parts and buying some others to build my own trailer for errands was pretty rewarding. With the ultimate goal of parking my car most of the summer and doing as many errands as possible by bike, my new trailer is going to be the biggest help. I hope to tell you about my successes and failures, trials, and lessons in building something from scratch.

Finishing up about a half-dozen draft posts. I’ve been excited about winter riding and hope to continue telling my story about how winter riding can improve your MTB skills. Also, over the years I got into cyclocross racing and have lots of race reports and pictures to show about this exciting sport. Maybe I’ll even post them.

Until next time, enjoy life and get out and have fun. I’ve been trying my hardest to do so!

About Kurt (Lightning) Bredeson

I am a married man, a follower of Jesus, a Mechanical Engineer, and a lover of cars, cycling and music. Things haven't always been easy; things haven't always been hard. I'm just trying my best in this life to enjoy what's been given to me by God and make the most of it.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Cyclocross and Racing, Repair and Maintenance, Winter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments?

